Inside Athletics : General Releases

Skip to main content

GLIAC Releases All-Academic Teams for Spring 2018 Semester

GLIAC Releases All-Academic Teams for Spring 2018 Semester
Thursday, May 31, 2018
GLIAC Releases All-Academic Teams for Spring 2018 Semester

HAMMOND & WESTVILLE, Ind. – Purdue Northwest Athletics had plenty of its student-athletes recognized when the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) announced its All-Academic & All-Academic Excellence Teams Thursday morning following the Spring 2018 semester. The Pride had 30 student-athletes across five spring teams (baseball, men’s and women’s golf, men’s tennis and softball) named to either the All-Academic or All-Academic Excellence Team.

A total of 814 student-athletes across the entire conference achieved all-academic recognition, including 382 on the All-Academic team and 432 on the All-Excellence list. Criteria for the recognition states that the student-athlete must be an active member on the roster at the end of the season, not a freshman or a first-year transfer student.

All-Academic Teams are comprised of student-athletes who meet the criteria and carry a cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.0-3.49. Academic Excellence Teams are comprised of student-athletes who have a cumulative GPA of 3.50-4.0. Grades are based on marks from the spring semester of 2018. Below is a listing of the PNW student-athletes who were recognized sorted by sport:


All-Academic Excellence Team – Sophomore Alex Batistatos (Hobart, Ind./Hobart), sophomore Caden Bell (Hammond, Ind./HAST), sophomore Evan Frank (Hammond, Ind./Crown Point) and junior Austin Kordik (West Chicago, Ill./College of DuPage/Community)

All-Academic Team – Senior Jonny Albers (Waterloo, Ill./Waterloo), sophomore Fabian Del Real (Calumet City, Ill./Sauk Valley CC/TF North), sophomore Tristen Hesser (Dyer, Ind./Boone Grove), sophomore Tyler Kenjic (Hobart, Ind./Hobart), senior Mike Mikulich (Hebron, Ind./Hebron) and senior Jimmy Skiff (Dyer, Ind./Andrean)

Men’s Golf

All-Academic Excellence Team – Junior Michael Goodman (Dyer, Ind./Mount Carmel) and junior Leo Govert (Crown Point, Ind./Crown Point)

All-Academic Team – Sophomore Payton Smith (Cedar Lake, Ind./Hanover Central) and junior Ryan Wells (Dyer, Ind./Lake Central)

Men’s Tennis

All-Academic Excellence Team – Junior Moritz Gisy (Duesseldorf, Germany/International School of Rhine), sophomore Ulf Grosseloh (Maximilansau, Germany/Kant-Gymnasium Karlsruhe) and sophomore John Mamelson (St. John, Ind./Lake Central)

All-Academic Team – Sophomore Jonluke Passett (Orland Park, Ill./Sandburg), junior Diego Pimentel (Guayaquil, Ecuador/Unidad Educativa Bilingue) and sophomore Mauricio Villacres (Guayaquil, Ecuador/Ronald Reagan)


All-Academic Excellence Team – Junior Tessa Steffens (Litchfield, Ill./Litchfield)

All-Academic Team – Sophomore Emma Hendricks (Henryville, Ind./Henryville), junior Taylor Kotzo (Munster, Ind./Munster), junior Lauren Maynard (Griffith, Ind./Dominican University/Griffith), senior Holly Pagan (Bartlett, Ill./Bartlett) and junior Olivia Sardella (Dyer, Ind./Lake Central)

Women’s Golf

All-Academic Excellence Team – Sophomore Lauren Bailey (Wanatah, Wis./Lacrosse) and sophomore Darian Smith (Muskegon, Mich./Mona Shores)

All-Academic Team – Sophomore Rachel Pennington (Circleville, Ohio/Logan Elm) and sophomore Meaghan Spalla (Crown Point, Ind./Boone Grove)